Why I Wrote ODDITY

Some of the Pitch Wars mentees suggested a round of posts about why we wrote the manuscripts we’re pitching. So, why did I write my MG Sci-Fi manuscript, ODDITY?

Oh gosh, why didn’t I?

Gratuity

First of all, I love stories that are creepy, but still have heart and a sense of humor. I’m an avid fan of the Welcome to Night Vale podcast, and was lucky enough to attend one of their live shows. I also enjoy crazy middle grade stories, like M.T. Anderson’s WHALES ON STILTS, and Adam Rex’s THE TRUE MEANING OF SMEKDAY. With ODDITY, my goal is to take you on an adventure in a town so weird you can’t look away, and so beautiful that you wish you lived there. If I manage to make you laugh out loud? So much the better.

I also tend to write about large, noisy families– both blood relatives and families of choice. I’ve relocated many, many times in my life, and know firsthand how vital such communities are. Ada, my main character, is narrating the story to her missing twin sister, and her family is struggling to come to terms with their loss. Ada’s diverse network of extended family and friends is the net that breaks her fall.

superfamily

Then there are the weird reasons that only make sense to me– like the grocery store with a big, dark conveyor belt that freaked me out as a kid, or my infatuation with creepy little rabbits in pajamas, or my general love of shenanigans.

I think I delivered a fun, creepy adventure readers will love! I’m so grateful to Cat Scully for picking me and Phil Hickes for #TeamScully

Want to see more “Why I Wrote My Pitch Wars Manuscript” posts? Check out my fellow mentees’ blogs below:

Carleen Karanovic: HOPE ON A FEATHER

 

Heather Truett: RENASCENCE

 

Tracie Martin: WILD IS THE WIND

 

Susan Bickford: FRAMED

 

Rachel Sarah: RULES FOR RUNNING AWAY

 

Amanda Rawson Hill: GRIMM AND BEAR IT

 

Charlotte Gruber: CODE OF SILENCE

 

Kip Wilson: THE MOST DAZZLING GIRL IN BERLIN

 

Mary Ann Nicholson: CALAMITY

 

Nikki Roberti: THE TRUTH ABOUT TWO-SHOES

 

Anna Patel: EXODUS

 

A. Reynolds: LE CIRQUE DU LITERATI

 

Susan Crispell: WISHES TO NOWHERE

 

Ron Walters: THE GOLEM INITIATIVE

 

Rosalyn Eves: THE BLOOD ROSE REBELLION

 

Ashley Poston: HEART OF IRON

 

Mara Rutherford: WINTERSOUL

 

Janet Walden-West: Damned If She Do

 

Kazul Wolf: SUMMER THUNDER

 

D. Grimm: WITCHER

 

Kelli Newby: THORNVAAL

 

Tara Sim: TIMEKEEPER

 

Elliah Terry: POCKET FULL OF POPPIES

 

Alessa Hinlo: THE HONEST THIEF

 

Rachel Horwitz: THE BOOTLEGGER’S BIBLE

 

Whitney Taylor: DEFINITIONS OF INDEFINABLE THINGS

 

Lyra Selene: REVERIE

 

Natalie Williamson: SET IN STONE

 

Robin Lemke: THE DANCE OF THE PALMS

 

Stephanie Herman: CLIFF WITH NO EDGE

 

Shannon Cooley: A FROG, A WHISTLE, AND A VIAL OF SAND

 

Ruth Anne Snow: THE GIRLS OF MARCH

 

Elizabeth Dimit: PHOEBE FRANZ’S GUIDE TO PASSPORTS, PAGEANTS, & PARENTAL DISASTERS

 

Gwen C. Katz: AMONG THE RED STARS

 

Jennifer Hawkins: FALSE START

 

Kelly DeVos: THE WHITE LEHUA

 

Gina Denny: SANDS OF IMMORTALITY

 

Natasha M. Heck: FOLLOW THE MOON

 

Esher Hogan – Walking After Midnight

 

D.A. Mages: THE MEMORY OF OBJECTS

 

Kirsten Squires: INCREPTO

Leave a Reply

